Faith · Family Life

Trying To ‘Do It All’?

Dear friend,

Ever find yourself in a race to ‘do it all’ or ‘have it all together’?

I want to gently ask you, for who?

Who are you ‘trying’ for?  Is it for others?  The other moms, your friends, your spouse, your coworkers, your family, or my most favorite, yourself?

IMG_7476 - Version 2

That’s a hard one and it has taken me a while to think it over and really be honest with myself.  When I was first faced with this question it kind of stunned me.

For who am I trying to ‘do it all’?  Why am I trying to ‘do it all’?

I was so used feeling like I needed to do it all or at least was aware that this is a thing that I should try not to be swept into.  I never stopped to think of who I was trying to do it all for!IMG_7438 - Version 2

And then the why?  Why did I need to do it all for this person, or most often, for myself.  Did it really improve my quality of life?  (no)  Was it worth it?  (no)

This revelation reframed my thinking.  It’s not so much about trying to do everything or be everything or experience everything.  It’s not important.  Or at least not as important as I thought it was.

I try to live intentionally and focus on the most important things.  The things I will be happy I did when I look back in 1 year, 5 years, 25 years, or the end of my life.  I want to focus on the things that matter because too often I get swept up in the trivial, daily life stuff that doesn’t matter and look back and ask where my time went!  I hate that feeling so I am focusing on being more intentional in that area of my life.

IMG_7489 - Version 2

This pressure to do it all or be everything to everyone is always present.  At least for me, and has been most of my life.  But who really cares!?  I love the freedom in that concept!

Freedom to pick and choose where I spend my energy and where I give my time.   Free to ask, what is important to me and what is something I can let go of!  I love those questions!

Family time is of high importance to me, but I don’t want to just say that!  I actually want to spend my time with them!  And, perhaps more importantly, I want my child to know that spending time making memories with each other is one of the most important (and most fun!) parts of life.  I want Zeke to know this concept so well that he doesn’t think twice about it.  I want it to be a concept so ingrained in him that when he has a family it’s exactly what he does without a second thought!

IMG_7505 - Version 2

How about you?  Do you struggle with trying to ‘do it all’?  Why do you think you are trying to ‘have it all together’?

What ways do you try to live intentionally?

(These pictures are of Z hanging out today while we waited for Mark to come home from work.  They don’t particularly go with the post, but I love pictures and blog posts with pictures are always more fun!) 😉

One thought on “Trying To ‘Do It All’?

Leave a Reply

