Recipes

Turkey Bone Broth – Recipe

I just started making bone broth this year after reading so many articles about its benefits!  As an added bonus, it’s cheaper than buying broth so it saves us money!

I started by chopping up my veggies ahead of time.  With a toddler I have to get creative with how I use my time so today I had just enough time to chop the veggies but not time to do the rest until later!

Bone Broth1

Next I added all the ingredient to simmer for hours on my stove top making my house smell like Thanksgiving which was perfect for this cloudy day.

Bone Broth4

After about 8 hours of simmering I let it completely cool before freezing.  I tried a few different methods of freezing.

  1.  I poured the broth into muffin tins and let it freeze into 1/3 cup pods.  <— that’s how big my muffin tin cups are!  They froze easily and stack in zip top bags in my freezer which makes them easy to grab for different recipes.  I like this method and use these pods often, usually just throwing it into my pot/crock pot/rice cooker/whatever recipe is calling for broth and let it thaw as it’s cooking.  The downside to this was that it was time-consuming to pour into the tins, wait for them to freeze, take them out of the tins and put them into the zip top bags…lots of extra steps.  But still, worth it!  At least until I find a better method!
  2. I poured the broth into larger air tight freezer containers, let them cool, labeled them and then froze the containers.  These aren’t for grab and go recipes but I will use them for future soup base.  This method is of course way easier and faster as there is only one step but not convenient for future recipes that don’t require the entire container of broth.  Also, I have to wait for the container to thaw before I can get to the broth.

Bone Broth3

I combined several recipes from around the web and added a few things of my own, as usual!

Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

Bones and Skin of whole turkey

2 Onions – chopped

1 Stalk of Celery – chopped

1/2 tsp. Thyme

1/2 tsp. Parsley

1/2 tsp. Peper Corns

1/4 tsp. Bay Leaves (or 2 Bay Leaves)

1/4 tsp. Seasoning Salt

1.  Put all ingredients in large stock pot or slow cooker, cover with water + 2″

2. Bring to boil

3. Reduce to simmer, cooking for 3-8 hours!  The longer you let it simmer the better!  Keep an eye on water levels as you will need to add more water.  I cooked this batch for 8 hours so I added more water and seasoning as I like things with a lot of flavor.

4.  Strain all bones, skin and veggies from broth.  Let cool completely before refrigerating or freezing.

Bone Broth2

 

Do you make bone broth?!  What is your favorite recipe?  What do you use your bone broth for?

Leave a Reply

