Books · Faith · Family Life

What do you really want?

I love to read.  I just read “Free to be Me” by Stasi Eldredge.  I have read some of her and her husband’s other books and thought this would be a good one.  It was!  Although it is directed towards younger girls it had a lot of good insights that I needed to hear.

One section I found interesting was about dreams.  I love to dream and plan and create a life I enjoy.  If I do not plan it and write it in my calendar it will not get done.  I thrive with a goal and a plan to accomplish it and I love to hear other people talk about their dreams and goals.

Have you ever noticed when someone becomes alive, more animated and excited just by talking about their dreams and goals?  It’s like getting to see a glimpse of who they really are, what they were made for.

I found these statistics shocking:

“Four out of five Americans say they don’t have any dreams…Sixteen percent of Americans say they do have dreams, but they don’t write them down.  Four percent have dreams and desires and write them down but less than 1 percent review and update them on a regular basis.  It is the people who allow themselves to dream, who own their dreams, and who write them down and look at them periodically whose life dreams are coming true.” (Free to be Me, page 95)

Oh my goodness, less than 1 percent?????

Life can be so fun and exciting.  Let’s get everything we can out of every day, exhaust it, wring it out and live it to the fullest.  God wants us to enjoy this life He has given us.  Yes, it can be difficult and there are struggles but there is also so much good and God is showering us with His extravagant love every day.

He has created us with so many gifts and potential.  He has dreams for our lives too!  Have you asked Him what His dream for your life is?  Have you dared to dream big and see where God takes you?

graduation4

One of my dreams was to graduate with a theology degree.  It took a long time with many health obstacles but I did it and I’m so thankful I kept pushing.  I can see many times when God helped me through the difficult days and the setbacks.  My ability to persevere was tested and strengthened through those trials.  When I finally got my degree I was also living out another dream, I was 6 months pregnant!  I “walked” early and finished my last final with my 5 day old son sleeping on my lap!  But that’s a story for another post!

graduation6graduation1graduation2graduation3graduation5

What are your dreams?  If you could do anything, with no limitations from finances, time, or obstacles, what would you do?  How could you take steps towards that today?  Tell me in the comments!  I love to hear about your dreams and I’ll be praying with you as you take steps towards them!

Leave a Reply

